More chemistry-bashing

There is nothing a physicist likes better than to get one up on a chemist. In a friendly way of course. Rather like New Zealand beating Australia at some sporting event.  

So it is with great delight that I hear that the 2009 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to a physicist. (See commentary by The Institute of Physics).

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan is not the only physicist with this distinction. Ernest Rutherford was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry (not Physics) in 1908. Rather ironic for someone who said "All science is either physics or stamp-collecting."

Leave a Reply